Introducing the Class of 2024

Quinton Caver 

Jimmy Dew

George Hoblitzell 

Daphne Mobley Johnston 

Aaron Kelley 

Schuessler Ware 

The Class of 2024 includes:

1. Quinton Caver: Former Anniston High football and basketball standout, played football for the University of Arkansas and had stints with three NFL teams and one CFL team.

2. Jimmy Dew: Notable basketball player for Bethune High School, Alabama State University, and two NBA teams.

3.  George Hoblitzell: Respected football coach at Piedmont High School.

4. Daphne Mobley Johnston: Volleyball standout for Donoho School and LaGrange College.

5. Aaron Kelley: Accomplished basketball player for Oxford High School and Jacksonville State University.

6.  Schuessler Ware: Esteemed basketball coach at Anniston High School.


The Class of 2024 marks the 19th induction class since the establishment of the Hall of Fame in 2005, with the exception of 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The upcoming induction ceremony, scheduled for June 15 at the Oxford Civic Center, will bring the total number of esteemed inductees to 118.

To be eligible for induction, nominees must be retired for at least three years, or at least 62 years old and still active in their respective fields. Ware, who coached his last game in 2021 after coming out of retirement for one season at Faith Christian, joins the illustrious list of inductees along with Caver, Hoblitzell, Kelley, and others, who were nominated and selected in their first year of eligibility.

The Calhoun County Sports Hall of Fame’s commitment to recognizing outstanding contributions from the community continues, with the nomination process relying on community input and the final selection made by the board. This year’s inductees, each with a remarkable athletic journey, exemplify the spirit of excellence that defines the Hall of Fame.

The Calhoun County Sports Hall of Fame was formed in 2005 to honor Calhoun County citizens who have made significant contributions to Calhoun County as athletes, coaches, or in other sports-related fields. Each year six nominees are inducted into the Hall of Fame after careful screening by the board members.

Click here to view all of our Hall of Famers

Copyright © 2024 Calhoun County Sports Hall of Fame